Gibraltar was the first country to issue a series of breed specific dog coins starting with a Royal Corgi in 1991 and following that up with a Cocker Spaniel in 1992, a Dachshund in 1993, a Pekinese in 1994, a Collie in 1995, a British Bulldog in 1996 and the last coin in the series, a Yorkshire Terrier in 1997. These coins were issued in copper-nickel, silver and gold, with the gold issues also being issued in fractional denominations. Other countries have followed suit, among them Canada, Somalia and Australia. As an interesting aside, multiple different breeds can be found on Year of the Dog coins issued by a host of nations.