The American Silver Eagle is the official silver bullion coin of the United States.  It was authorized by the Liberty Coin Act of 1985 and first struck in 1986, and is guaranteed to contain one ounce of .999 fine silver.

Although considered a bullion coin, the Silver Eagle is also struck in proof and uncirculated versions for collectors and may be used to fund Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs). Sliver Eagles have been coined at the Philadelphia, San Francisco and West Point Mints. The coin’s obverse was designed based on Adolph Weinman’s representation of Liberty on the walking Liberty Half Dollar, while the reverse was designed by John Mercanti. The coin’s obverse is is inscribed with the word “Liberty”, the phrase “In God We Trust” and the year of issue. The reverse portrays the Heraldic Eagle with an olive branch in it’s right talon and arrows in it’s left talon. The Thirteen Colonies are represented by thirteen stars above the eagle. The reverse also bears the following inscriptions: UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, 1 OZ. FINE SILVER~ONE DOLLAR, and E PLURIBUS UNUM and the mintmark.

In late 2021 a new reverse design by Emily Damstra was introduced, known as the Flying Eagle. This reverse portrays an eagle flying to the left while holding an oak branch in it’s talons, a nod the national tree of the United States.