Premiere Online Coin Dealer

1794-1839 Early Dollars

Silver Dollars were first authorized by the Coinage Act of April 2nd, 1792, which also authorized the construction of the United States Mint. Five major varieties of silver dollars were issued between 1794 and 1873. Those varieties were the Flowing Hair variety in 1794 and 1795, the Draped Bust Dollars from 1795 to 1804, Gobrecht Dollars from 1836 to 1839, Liberty Seated Dollars from 1840 until 1873 and Trade Dollars from 1873 until 1885. Trade Dollars were demonetized by Congress in 1876 when it became apparent that they were not widely circulating in the United States. Within these five varieties are multiple sub-varieties of coins, some major and some minor.

There are no products matching the selection.

Back to top