Premiere Online Coin Dealer

[1837-1891] Liberty Seated Dimes

In 1837 the design of the Dime changed to a new one created by Christian Gobrecht, the third Chief Engraver for the United States Mint.The new version was known as the “Liberty Seated” Dime and appeared on five different varieties of the coin between 1837 and 1891. The new dime weighed 2.7 grams, was composed of .900 silver and .100 copper and had a 17.9 millimeter diameter. This was also the first dime that was minted in both Philadelphia and New Orleans. Variety 1 was struck in 1837 and 1838 and was known as the “No Stars on Obverse” variety. It was followed by Variety 2, the “Stars on Obverse” version that was minted from 1938 until 1953. For a three year period commencing in 1853, the Mint struck coins with arrowheads on both sides of the date and this is known as Variety 3, or the “Arrows at Date” variety. In 1856, the Mint decided to revert back to the Version 2 design and those coins were struck until 1860. 1856 was also the first year that dimes were struck at the San Francisco Mint. In 1860 the Mint decided to replace the stars on the obverse with the legend “United States of America,” and this new design was known as Variety 4. This was the design that was used until 1873 and later from 1875 until 1891. In 1871 the Carson City Mint was added to the production of the Variety 4 dime, albeit in very small quantities compared to the other mints. Variety 5 was limited to a two year period in 1873 and 1874, when the Mint again decided to place arrowheads on both sides of the date, so the variety is known also as the “Arrows at Date” variety, the same as Variety 3 coins.

There are no products matching the selection.

Back to top